Statement on the Senate Vote Sustaining a Veto of the Standby Petroleum Allocation Bill

March 24, 1982

I want to thank the Members of the Senate who have just voted to sustain my veto of the standby petroleum allocation act.

I am especially grateful to Senators Baker, Stevens, Laxalt, Nickles, and Mattingly. They displayed an extraordinary degree of teamwork and personal leadership that made today's victory possible.

Today's vote was an expression of confidence that our marketplace and the good sense of the American people provide our best lines of defense against any future interruptions of energy supplies.

America has recently embarked upon a new path in energy -- a path that is leading us toward greater production, expanded storage, and reduced reliance upon foreign energy sources. Those who voted to sustain this veto fully understood that greater energy independence is the best preparation America can make for the future.