Appointment of 20 Members of the President's Committee on Mental Retardation

April 14, 1982

The President today announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be members of the President's Committee on Mental Retardation.

Kathleen M. Barrett has been serving as a volunteer at the Washington Hospital Center establishing communications programs for inservice facilities. She resides in Potomac, Md., and was born February 17, 1944.

Richard E. Blanton, Ph. D., is currently associate director of the Illinois Department of Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities, division of developmental disabilities, in Springfield. He was born April 8, 1930.

Lee A. Christoferson, M.D., is chairman of the department of neurosciences at the University of North Dakota School of Medicine. He resides in Fargo, N. Dak., and was born June 9, 1921.

Dorothy Corbin Clark, R.N., has been serving as legislative consultant to the Utah State Nurses Association and as vice chairman, Governor's Advisory Council, Utah Occupational Safety and Health Administration, since 1974. She resides in Provo, Utah, and was born October 8, 1924.

Vicki Marie Click has been involved in a number of community activities in Tucson, Ariz. She was born June 14, 1944.

Thomas J. Farrell is a chartered life underwriter for Thomas J. Farrell and Associates in Santa Rosa, Calif. He was born June 10, 1926.

Madeline B. Harwood is a member of the Vermont State Senate. She resides in Manchester Center, Vt., and was born July 7, 1914.

Elsie D. Helsel, Ph. D., is professor emeritus of the Center for Human Development, Convocation Center, Ohio University in Athens, Ohio. She was born July 10, 1915.

Lawrence A. Kane, Jr., is an attorney with the law firm of Dinsmore and Shohl in Cincinnati, Ohio. He was born Septemer 27, 1929.

Richard J. Kogan is executive vice-president of Schering-Plough Corp. in Summit, N.J. He was born June 6, 1941.

James L. Kuebelbeck is president of Williams-Kuebelbeck and Associates, Inc., in Redwood City, Calif. He was born December 21, 1932.

D. Beth Macy is currently director, developmental disabilities, State Department of Health, in Lincoln, Nebr. She was born February 26, 1947.

Timothy J. O'Brien is deputy director, SSI/Disabled Children's Program, Office of Mental Retardation and Developmental Disabilities, State of New York. He resides in Delmar, N.Y., and was born October 29, 1938.

Frederick J. Rose is a retired businessman and rancher and resides in Ocean Ridge, Fla. He was born January 2, 1929.

Raymond M. Peterson is director, San Diego Regional Center for the Developmentally Disabled. He resides in La Jolla, Calif., and was born September 27, 1936.

Anne Crellin Seggerman is president and founder, Fourth World Foundation, Inc., in Fairfield, Conn. She was born May 13, 1931.

Marguerite Timlin Shine was involved in the field of social work for 12 years, including work for the Department of Public Welfare in Washington, D.C. She resides in San Francisco, Calif., and was born April 13, 1929.

Lila Thompson is a volunteer worker and State advisory board member for the Department of Mental Health and Retardation. She resides in Richmond, Tex., and was born March 18, 1922.

Virginia J. Thornburgh is an active volunteer working with mentally retarded and physically handicapped persons. She resides in Harrisburg, Pa., and was born January 7, 1940.

Ruth A. Warson, R.N., is a guest lecturer, Mount Saint Mary's College, and is vice chairman, community advisory committee, Los Angeles Unified School District. She was born April 11, 1928.