Nominations & Appointments, May 7, 1982

Nomination of Peter E. Voss To Be a Governor of the United States Postal Service

May 7, 1982

The President today announced his intention to nominate Peter E. Voss to be a Governor of the United States Postal Service for a term expiring December 8, 1990. He would succeed Hung Wai Ching.

Mr. Voss is currently chief executive officer and president at Northeastern, Inc., in Canton, Ohio. He founded the company in 1954. He was Executive Director and Chairman of the National Finance Committee for the 1970 White House Conference on Children and Youth. He is a member of the Chief Executives Forum, an international group of senior executives; a member of the World Business Council; and past director, chapter chairman, education chairman, and leadership activities chairman of the Young Presidents' Organization.

He attended Kenyon College and is a graduate of Harvard Business School's industrial management course. He is married, has three children, and resides in Canton, Ohio. He was born September 13, 1930.

Appointment of Three Members of the President's Committee on the National Medal of Science, and Designation of Chairman

May 7, 1982

The President today announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be members of the President's Committee on the National Medal of Science for terms expiring December 31, 1984. The President also announced his intention to designate William L. Mills to be Chairman.

William L. Mills is currently associate professor of environmental engineering at Vanderbilt University. He was associate professor of environmental health sciences and engineering at North Carolina Central University in 1973 - 1977. He graduated from Alcorn State University (B.S., 1967), Tuskegee Institute (M.S., 1969), and the University of Kansas (Ph. D., 1973). He is married, has two children, and resides in Nashville, Tenn. He was born November 20, 1944. He would succeed Mary L. Good.

Perry Adkisson is serving as deputy chancellor for agriculture and distinguished professor of entomology, department of entomology, at Texas A&M University. He has been with Texas A&M University since 1958, serving as vice president for agriculture and renewable resources in 1978 - 1980. He was head, department of entomology, in 1967 - 1978 and professor, department of entomology, in 1963 - 1967. He graduated from the University of Arkansas (B.S., 1950; M.S., 1954) and Kansas State University (Ph. D., 1956). He is married, has one child, and resides in Bryan, Tex. He was born March 11, 1929. He would succeed Calvin C. Moore.

Naomi J. McAfee is manager, design assurance and operations, Defense and Electronics Systems Center, at Westinghouse Electric Corp. She has been with Westinghouse Electric Corp. since 1955 and was executive assistant to the general manager of the systems and technology divisions in 1977 - 1979. She was director of corporate strategic resources in 1976 - 1977 and was engineering manager, quality and reliability assurance, in 1973 - 1976. She graduated from Western Kentucky State College (B.S., 1956). She is married and resides in Baltimore, Md. She was born October 27, 1934. She would succeed Dorothy M. Simon.