Nomination of 12 Members of the General Advisory Committee of the United States Arms Control and Disarmament Agency, and Designation of Acting Chairman

May 24, 1982

The President today announced his intention to nominate the following individuals to be members of the General Advisory Committee of the United States Arms Control and Disarmament Agency.

William Robert Graham would succeed McGeorge Bundy. Upon confirmation, the President intends to designate Dr. Graham to be Acting Chairman. He is currently serving as defense research analyst, R & D Associates, in Marina del Rey, Calif. He was consultant to the Office of the Secretary of Defense in 1970 - 1981. He resides in Mammoth Lakes, Calif., and was born June 15, 1937.

Colin Spencer Grey would succeed Bert Thomas Combs. He is serving as president of the National Institute for Public Policy, Virginia. He was director of national security studies at the Hudson Institute in New York. He resides in Briarcliff Manor, N.Y., and was born December 29, 1943.

Roland F. Herbst would succeed Lawrence Owen Cooper. Dr. Herbst has been with R&D Associates, Marina del Rey, Calif., since 1971 and is currently director of the nuclear effects division. He was Deputy Director, Defense Research and Engineering (Space and Strategic Systems), Office of the Secretary of Defense, in 1969 - 1971. He resides in Malibu, Calif., and was born October 8, 1926.

Francis P. Hoeber would succeed Paul Mead Doty. Since 1974 he has been president of Hoeber Corp. in Arlington, Va. He was with the Rand Corp. in 1968 - 1974 and the Stanford Research Institute in 1960 - 1968. He resides in Arlington, Va., and was born July 15, 1918.

Charles Burton Marshall would succeed Harry Arthur Huge. He is serving as consultant to System Planning Corp. in Arlington, Va. He was on the staff of the Washington Center of Foreign Policy Research, the Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies in Washington, D.C., in 1959 - 1975. He resides in Arlington, Va., and was born March 25, 1908.

Jaime Oaxaca would succeed Joseph Lane Kirkland. He is vice president and assistant general manager, Northrup Corp., electro-mechanical division. He was vice president of missile programs and vice president and assistant general manager with the corporation. He resides in Ranchos Palos Verdes, Calif., and was born February 20, 1931.

Shirley N. Pettis would succeed Arthur B. Krim. She is a member of the board of directors of the Kemper Corp. She is a member of the board of trustees at the University of Redlands. In addition, she is vice president of the Women's Research and Education Institute in Washington, D.C. She resides in Los Angeles, Calif., and was born July 12, 1924.

John P. Roche would succeed Wolfgang Kurt Hermann Panofsky. He is serving as academic dean and professor of civilization and foreign affairs at the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, Tufts University. He was Consultant to the Vice President of the United States and the Department of State in 1964 - 1966 and Special Consultant to the President of the United States in 1966 - 1968.

Donald Rumsfeld would succeed Harold M. Agnew. He is currently president and chief executive officer at G. D. Searle and Co. in Skokie, Ill. He was Secretary of Defense in 1975 - 1976 and Assistant to the President in 1974 - 1975. He was United States Permanent Representative with the rank of Ambassador to NATO in 1973 - 1974. He resides in Wilmette, Ill., and was born July 9, 1932.

Harriett Fast Scott would succeed Jane Cahill Pfeiffer. She is an occasional lecturer at the Army War College, Air University, National War College, and the United States Military Academy. She is a consultant on Soviet military and political-military affairs to various government organizations and research institutes. She is a senior research associate at the Advanced International Studies Institute. She resides in McLean, Va., and was born March 15, 1925.

Laurence Hirsch Silberman would succeed Brent Scowcroft. He is currently executive vice president (legal and government affairs) of Crocker National Bank in San Francisco. He is also a visiting fellow of the American Enterprise Institute and a member of the Council on Foreign Relations. He is a former Ambassador to Yugoslavia and was the President's Special Envoy to the European Community, Japan, Australia, and Canada on International Labor Organization affairs in 1976. He resides in San Francisco and was born October 12, 1935.

Elmo Russell Zumwalt, Jr., would succeed George M. Seignious. He is currently serving as president of Admiral Zumwalt and Associates, Inc., a consulting firm in the field of management, energy, health care, overseas business operations, foreign and defense policy, and strategic planning. Admiral Zumwalt was Chief of Naval Operations and a member of the Joint Chiefs of Staff in 1970 - 1974. He resides in Arlington, Va., and was born November 29, 1920.