Executive Order 12452 -- Revised List of Quarantinable Communicable Diseases

December 22, 1983

By the authority vested in me as President by the Constitution and laws of the United States of America, including Section 264(b) of Title 42 of the United States Code, it is hereby ordered as follows:

Section 1. Based upon the recommendation of the National Advisory Health Council and the Assistant Secretary for Health of the Department of Health and Human Services, and for the purposes of specifying certain communicable diseases for regulations providing for the apprehension, detention, or conditional release of individuals to prevent the introduction, transmission, or spread of communicable diseases, the following named communicable diseases are hereby specified pursuant to Section 264(b) of Title 42 of the United States Code: Cholera or suspected Cholera, Diphtheria, infectious Tuberculosis, Plague, suspected Smallpox, Yellow Fever, and suspected Viral Hemorrhagic Fevers (Lassa, Marburg, Ebola, Congo-Crimean, and others not yet isolated or named).

Sec. 2. Executive Order No. 9708 of March 26, 1946, Executive Order No. 10532 of May 28, 1954, and Executive Order No. 11070 of December 12, 1962, are hereby revoked.

Ronald Reagan

The White House,

December 22, 1983.

[Filed with the Office of the Federal Register, 3:53 p.m., December 22, 1983]