Nominations & Appointments, March 30, 1983

Nomination of David M. Abshire To Be United States Permanent Representative on the Council of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization

March 30, 1983

The President today announced his intention to nominate David M. Abshire to be the United States Permanent Representative on the Council of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization, with the rank of Ambassador. He would succeed W. Tapley Bennett, Jr.

Dr. Abshire is president of the Georgetown University Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS), which he helped found in 1962. He presently serves as a member of the President's Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board and of the Long Range Planning Advisory Board for the Chief of Naval Operations. Previously Dr. Abshire was Chairman of the U.S. Board for International Broadcasting in 1974 - 1977; Assistant Secretary of State for Congressional Relations in 1970 - 1973; executive director, Center for Strategic and International Studies, in 1962 - 1970; and director of special projects, American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research, in 1960 - 1962.

In 1978 - 1981 he was director and vice chairman of the Board of Youth for Understanding, the largest international teenage exchange program. Dr. Abshire is a former member of the Board of Advisors of the Naval War College (1975 - 1977) and was a member of the Congressional Committee on the Organization of the Government for the Conduct of Foreign Policy in 1974 - 1976.

Dr. Abshire is a member of the Trilateral Commission and of the Council on Foreign Relations. He serves on the board of the National Park Foundation. He is a director of the Tinker Foundation of New York and of the Atlantic Council of the United States. Dr. Abshire is founder and coeditor of The Washington Quarterly: A Journal of Strategic and International Studies. He is the author of a number of books, including ``The South Rejects a Prophet''; ``International Broadcasting: A New Dimension of Western Diplomacy''; and ``Foreign Policy Makers: President vs. Congress.''

He graduated from the United States Military Academy (B.S., 1951) and Georgetown University (Ph. D., 1959). He is married, has five children, and resides in Alexandria, Va. He was born April 11, 1926, in Chattanooga, Tenn.

Nomination of Jay P. Moffat To Be United States Ambassador to Chad

March 30, 1983

The President today announced his intention to nominate Jay P. Moffat, of New Hampshire, a career member of the Senior Foreign Service, Class of Minister-Counselor, to be Ambassador to the Republic of Chad. The Embassy in N'Djamena was reopened in January 1982.

Mr. Moffat served in the United States Army in 1953 - 1956. In 1956 he entered the Foreign Service as intelligence research officer in the Bureau of Intelligence and Research. He was consular officer in Kobe-Osaka (1958 - 1960) and political officer in Paris (1961 - 1965). In the Department he was officer in charge of Benelux affairs, Bureau of European Affairs (1965 - 1968), and staff assistant to the Secretary of State (1968 - 1969). He was political officer in Bern (1969 - 1970), Deputy Chief of Mission in Port of Spain (1971 - 1974), and attended the NATO Defense College in Rome (1974). In 1974 - 1976 he was Deputy Executive Secretary in the Department. He was Deputy Chief of Mission in Rabat in 1976 - 1980 and attended the Executive Seminar in National and International Affairs at the Foreign Service Institute in 1980 - 1981. Since 1982 he has been charge d'affaires in N'Djamena.

Mr. Moffat graduated from Harvard University (A.B., 1953). His foreign languages are French, German, and Russian. He was born January 17, 1932, in New York, N.Y.

Appointment of Two United States Commissioners of the Ohio River Valley Water Sanitation Commission

March 30, 1983

The President today announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be Commissioners representing the United States Government on the Ohio River Valley Water Sanitation Commission:

Jean M. Barren will succeed Norman H. Beamer. She is a member of the Board of Elections of Jefferson County, Ohio. She has been a member of the State and Local Government Commission of Ohio since 1978. She was a member of the Steubenville Metropolitan Planning and Redevelopment Commission in 1957 - 1973. She graduated from Case Western Reserve University (B.S., 1939). She has four children and resides in Steubenville. She was born July 2, 1917.

Joseph D. Cloud will succeed Richard C. Armstrong. He is retired. He was director of the Indiana Department of Natural Resources. He was first elected to the Indiana House of Representatives in 1960 and was reelected in 1962, 1966, 1968, and 1970. During his tenure, he served as chairman of the Education Committee for 6 years. He is married, has one child, and resides in Richmond, Ind. He was born November 8, 1914.