Appointment of Three Members of the President's Blue Ribbon Task Group on Nuclear Weapons Program Management

March 1, 1985

The President today announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be members of the President's Blue Ribbon Task Group on Nuclear Weapons Program Management.

William P. Clark most recently served as Secretary of the Interior (1983 - 1985). Previously, he was Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs (1982 - 1983) and Deputy Secretary of State (1981 - 1982). From 1973 to 1981, Mr. Clark was an associate justice on the California State Supreme Court. Following World War II he served in the United States Army Counter Intelligence Corps in Western Europe. Mr. Clark attended Stanford and Santa Clara Universities and Loyola Night Law School. He was born October 23, 1931, in California.

Jeane J. Kirkpatrick is currently the United States Permanent Representative to the United Nations. Previously, she was associate professor (1967 - 1973), professor (1973 - 1978), and then Leavey Professor in the Foundations of American Freedom (1978-on leave) at the Georgetown University. She is also the author of several scholarly works and has contributed to the New Republic, the American Political Science Review, and other publications. She graduated from Barnard College (B.A., 1946) and Columbia University (M.A., 1950). She was born November 19, 1926, in Duncan, OK.

Alan C. Furth has been with the Southern Pacific Co. since 1950, serving as general counsel (1963 - 1966), executive vice president (1976 - 1979), and president (1979 - present). He is also director and member of the executive committee of the Southern Pacific Co. Mr. Furth graduated from the University of California at Berkeley (A.B., 1944; LL.B., 1949). He is also a graduate of the advanced management program at Harvard University (1959). He was born September 16, 1922, in Oakland, CA.