Statement by Assistant to the President for Press Relations Fitzwater on Nuclear Nonproliferation Guidelines

April 16, 1987

The President is pleased to announce a new policy to limit the proliferation of missiles capable of delivering nuclear weapons. The U.S. Government is adopting this policy today in common with the Governments of Canada, France, the Federal Republic of Germany, Italy, Japan, and the United Kingdom. These nations have long been deeply concerned over the dangers of nuclear proliferation. Acting on this concern, these seven governments have formulated guidelines to control the transfer of equipment and technology that could contribute to nuclear-capable missiles.

This initiative was completed only recently, following several years of diplomatic discussions among these governments. The fact that all seven governments have agreed to common guidelines and to a common annex of items to be controlled serves to prevent commercial advantage or disadvantage for any of the countries. Both the guidelines and its annex will be made available to the public.

The President wishes to stress that it is the continuing aim of the United States Government to encourage international cooperation in the peaceful use of modern technology, including in the field of space. The guidelines are not intended to impede this objective. However, such encouragement must be given in ways that are fully consistent with the nonproliferation policies of the U.S. Government. The United States, and its partners in this important initiative, would welcome the adherence of all states to these guidelines in the interest of international peace and security.