Appointment of J. Upshur Moorhead as a Special Assistant to the President January 19, 1982

The President today announced his intention to appoint J. Upshur (Jay) Moorhead to be Special Assistant to the President in the Office of the Deputy Chief of Staff. He will succeed James S. Rosebush.

Mr. Moorhead's major responsibility will be to serve as the White House coordinator for the President's Task Force on Private Sector Initiatives.

Since February 1981, Mr. Moorhead has been executive assistant to E. Pendleton James, Assistant to the President for Presidential Personnel. During the 1980 general election, Mr. Moorhead worked in New England as director for the Republican National Committee's Commitment '80 program, which was the Republican Party's grassroots and volunteer get-out-the-vote effort in the general election. Prior to the Republican National Convention, Mr. Moorhead directed the George Bush campaign in several northeastern States. He also worked for 2 years as the New England director of the Republican National Committee's local elections division.

While living in New England, Mr. Moorhead was active in developing two nonprofit organizations which taught underprivileged and handicapped persons how to play tennis.

Mr. Moorhead, who was born in Washington, D.C., received his B.A. from the University of Vermont, Burlington, Vt. He is 29 years old and resides in Washington, D.C.

Appointment of 14 Members of the National Advisory Council on Adult Education January 19, 1982

The President today announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be members of the National Advisory Council on Adult Education:

Lily Ring Balian is administrator, community affairs, Northrop Corp., in Los Angeles, Calif. She was born July 17, 1925, in Chicago, Ill.
Daniel E. Brennan, Sr., is a partner with the law firm of Brennan, McNamara & Brennan in Bridgeport, Conn. He was born May 9, 1913, in Bridgeport.
Patric Dorsey is owner and manager of Mulberry, Inc., in New Bern, N.C. She was born August 30, 1924, in El Reno, Okla.
Joyce Lee Gorringe is owner and manager of a farm in Naperville, Ill. She was born August 10, 1928, in Hammond, Ind.
Nancy H. Hill is active in community service in Lyndonville, Vt., and is a former high school teacher. She was born July 6, 1940, in Philadelphia, Pa.
Mary Sellman Jackson is owner and manager of Davidsonville Diversified Services in Davidsonville, Md. She is also a teacher in the Baltimore city public schools. She was born March 7, 1939, in Edgewater, Md.
Michael Marino is special assistant to Senator Arlen Spector (R-Pa.) in Philadelphia, Pa. He was born March 12, 1957, in Philadelphia.
Kathleen McCullough is executive secretary and personal assistant for the Oklahoma State auditor and inspector in Oklahoma City, Okla. She was born January 2, 1948, in Lawton, Okla.
Louis Stevens Ridgeway is vice president of the board of trustees, San Diego Community College District, in San Diego, Calif. He was born March 8, 1918, in Charleston, S.C.
Rawlein G. Soberano is assistant professor, division of history and sociology, Our Lady of Holy Cross College, in New Orleans, La. He was born April 19, 1941, in Barcolod, Philippines.
Patricia Smith is a member of the Worthington Board of Education in Worthington, Ohio. She was born March 31, 1935, in Athens, Ohio.
Mary Elizabeth Strother is a teacher with the Peoria Unified School District in Peoria, Ill. She was born September 10, 1931, in Akron, Pa.
Ruth Raymond Thone is active in community affairs and is currently a columnist and freelance writer in Lincoln, Nebr. She is the wife of Gov. Charles Thone (R-Nebr.). She was born November 21, 1931, in Scottsbluff, Nebr.
Joseph Ben Trujillo is president, Larimer Insurance Group, Inc., in Englewood, Colo. He was born September 26, 1947, in Santa Fe, N. Mex.

Appointment of 10 Members of the Presidential Commission on Broadcasting to Cuba, and Designation of Chairman January 19, 1982

The President today announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be members of the Presidential Commission on Broadcasting to Cuba. The President also announced his intention to designate Clifton White to be Chairman.

William Bourne Bayer is political editor and news commentator for WINZ Radio in Miami, Fla. Previously he was with WITA-TV in Miami as news director. He was born March 28, 1922, in Richmond, Ind.
Joseph Coors is president and vice chairman of the board for Coors Brewers in Golden, Colo. He was born November 12, 1917, in Denver, Colo.
Tirso del Junco is chairman of the California Republican Party. He is currently chief of the department of surgery at Santa Marta Hospital in East Los Angeles, Calif. He was born April 20, 1925, in Havana, Cuba.
George Jacobs was Director of Engineering, U.S. Board for International Broadcasting, in 1976 - 1980. He is currently retired. He was born July 16, 1924, in New York, N.Y., and resides in Silver Spring, Md.
Jorge L. Mas is president and chief executive officer, Church and Tower of Florida, Inc., a Miami-based firm of engineering contractors. He was born September 21, 1939, in Santiago, Cuba.
Richard M. Scaife is a publisher in Pittsburgh, Pa. He is currently publisher and director of City Communications, Inc. He was born July 3, 1932, in Pittsburgh.
Herbert Schmertz is vice president, public affairs, Mobil Oil Corp., in New York, N.Y. He was born March 22, 1930, in Yonkers, N.Y.
Richard B. Stone is senior partner, Proskauer, Rose, Goetz & Mendelsohn in Washington, D.C. He is a former United States Senator from Florida. He was born September 22, 1928, in New York.
F. Clifton White is a public affairs counselor in Greenwich, Conn. He has been active in many Presidential campaigns, including serving as director of Citizens for Goldwater-Miller in 1964. He was born June 13, 1918, in Leonardsville, N.Y.
Charles Z. Wick is Director of the International Communication Agency. He was born October 12, 1917, in Cleveland, Ohio.