July 19, 1983

The President today announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be members of the National Bipartisan Commission on Central America:

Dr. Henry Kissinger, Chairman of the Commission, New York, N.Y.

Nicholas F. Brady, managing director, Dillon Read & Co., Inc., Far Hills, N.J.

Henry G. Cisneros, mayor, San Antonio, Tex.

William P. Clements, Jr., former Governor of Texas, Dallas, Tex.

Dr. Carlos F. Diaz-Alejandro, professor of economics, Yale University, New Haven, Conn.

Wilson S. Johnson, president, National Federation of Independent Business, San Mateo, Calif.

Lane Kirkland, president, AFL - CIO, Washington, D.C.

Dr. Richard M. Scammon, political scientist, Chevy Chase, Md.

Dr. John Silber, president, Boston University, Brookline, Mass.

Potter Stewart, Associate Justice, Supreme Court of the United States (Retired), Washington, D.C.

Ambassador Robert S. Strauss, attorney at law, Washington, D.C.

William B. Walsh, president, Project Hope, Bethesda, Md.

The President's Representative to the Commission will be:

Ambassador Jeane J. Kirkpatrick, United States Representative to the United Nations.

The Commission is bipartisan, with no more than 7 of its 12 members from the same political party. In addition to the above, there will be Senior Counselors designated by the President. They will include two Democrats recommended by the Speaker and two Republicans recommended by the minority leader from the House of Representatives, and two Republicans recommended by the majority leader and two Democrats recommended by the minority leader from the United States Senate.