July 28, 1983

The President today announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be members of the President's Commission on Organized Crime. The President also announced his intention to designate Irving R. Kaufman to be Chairman.

Irving R. Kaufman, of New York, N.Y., has been serving as Circuit Judge for the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit since 1961 and served as chief judge in 1973 - 1980. He was judge on the Southern District Court of New York in 1949 - 1961. He was born June 24, 1910.

Phyllis Teresa Aranza, of Houston, Tex., is a lieutenant with the homicide division of the Houston Police Department. She is pursuing a masters degree in criminal justice at Sam Houston State University. She was born September 23, 1945.

Jesse A. Brewer, Jr., of Los Angeles, Calif., has been a member of the Los Angeles Police Department since 1947 and its deputy chief since 1981, with responsibility for supervision of numerous major crimes investigations. He was a member of the Task Force on Disorders and Terrorism of the National Advisory Committee on Criminal Justice Standards and Goals, named by the Law Enforcement Assistance Administration (1976). He was born October 11, 1921.

Carol Corrigan, of Oakland, Calif., is a deputy district attorney assigned to the senior felony staff for Alameda County and an assistant professor of law at the University of California Hastings College of Law. She served as special consultant and staff editor to the Presidential Task Force on Victims of Violent Crime in 1982 and has authored a number of publications relating to criminal law issues. She was born August 16, 1948.

Justin J. Dintino, of Hilltop, N.J., is executive officer of the New Jersey State Police Department. He is general chairman of the law enforcement intelligence unit and serves on the Organized Crime Committee of the International Association of Chiefs of Police and the policy board of the Middle Atlantic-Great Lakes State Organized Crime Law Enforcement Network. He was born October 30, 1928.

John F. Duffy, of San Diego, Calif., has been sheriff of San Diego County since 1970, having previously held various positions in the Sheriff's Department since 1953. He is president of the Police Executive Research Forum and serves on the board of directors of the National Sheriffs Association and on the board of directors of the National Institute of Justice. He was born June 10, 1930.

William J. Guste, Jr., of New Orleans, La., is attorney general of Louisiana. He has been a member of the Governor's Commission on Law Enforcement and the Administration of Justice since 1974. He served as a member and president of the New Orleans Metropolitan Crime Commission in 1956 - 1957 and as a member and chairman of the Juvenile Court Advisory Committee of Orleans Parish in 1961 - 1963. He was born May 26, 1922.

Judith Richards Hope, of the District of Columbia, is a partner in the law firm of Paul, Hastings, Janofsky, and Walker. She was associate director of the White House Domestic Council in 1975 - 1977. She was born November 30, 1940.

Phillip Manuel, of Alexandria, Va., is president of the Phillip Manuel Resource Group, a consulting firm that assists corporate clients and law firms with investigations involving economic crimes. He was chief investigator of the Senate Subcommittee on Investigations in 1968 - 1979. He was born November 9, 1936.

Thomas McBride, of California, is associate dean of the Stanford University Law School. He was an Associate Watergate Special Prosecutor in 1973 - 1975 and later served as Inspector General of the Departments of Labor and Agriculture. He was born February 8, 1929.

Eugene Methvin, of McLean, Va., is a senior editor of Readers Digest. He has written about crime and the law for more than 30 years and contributed to the passage of the Organized Crime Control Act of 1970. He was born September 19, 1934.

Edwin L. Miller, Jr., of La Jolla, Calif., is a district attorney for San Diego County and will assume the presidency of the National Association for District Attorneys in August. He is past president of the California Association of District Attorneys and was U.S. attorney for the Southern District of California in 1966 - 1969. He was born January 17, 1926.

Manuel J. Reyes, of Miami, Fla., is an attorney and executive vice president of the board of directors of Miami International Hospital. He also served as chairman of the Hispanic branch of the Miami Organized Crime Commission, and as a leader of the Hispanic community, he mobilized citizen groups to press for crackdowns on the influx of illegal drugs into the Miami area. He was born July 29, 1924.

Representative Peter W. Rodino, Jr., of New Jersey, is chairman of the House Judiciary Committee. He was born June 7, 1909.

Charles H. Rogovin, of Philadelphia, Pa., is a professor of law at Temple University. He was president of the Criminal Justice Associates in 1974 - 1977 and president of the Police Foundation in 1970 - 1972. In 1974 - 1976 he was a member of the Massachusetts Organized Crime Control Council. He headed the Organized Crime Committee of the Criminal Law Section of the American Bar Association in 1971 - 1972 and was Administrator of the Law Enforcement Assistance Administration in 1969 - 1970. He was born January 24, 1931.

Barbara Ann Rowan, of Manassas, Va., is a lawyer with Rowan Associates and was formerly an Assistant Director with the Federal Trade Commission. She served as staff attorney for the House Ethics Committee's Korean influence-buying investigation in 1977 - 1978 and was a staff attorney with the Legal Services Corporation and an assistant U.S. attorney for the Southern District of New York in 1971 - 1974. She was born September 6, 1938.

Frances A. Sclafani, of West Islip, N.Y., is presently deputy chief of the major offense bureau of the Suffolk County District Attorney's Office and the first woman to hold this position. She is also associate director of the National District Attorney's Association. She was born August 25, 1949.

Samuel K. Skinner, of Lake Forest, Ill., is a partner in the Chicago law firm of Sidley and Austin. He was chairman of the Governor's Fraud Prevention Commission in 1977 - 1979. He was U.S. attorney for the Northern District of Illinois, overseeing major organized crime investigations in the area. He was assistant U.S. attorney in the Northern District in 1968 - 1975. He was born June 10, 1938.

Potter Stewart, of the District of Columbia. Justice Stewart was an associate justice of the Supreme Court from 1958 until his retirement in 1981. He was born January 23, 1915.

Senator Strom Thurmond of South Carolina. Senator Thurmond is chairman of the Senate Judiciary Committee. He was born December 5, 1902.