June 14, 1984

The President today announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be members of the National Institute of Justice Advisory Board:

Joan Lipsky, for a term expiring November 6, 1986. She will succeed Pierce R. Brooks. Mrs. Lipsky is an attorney with the firm of Shuttleworth & Ingersoll in Cedar Rapids, IA. She also serves on the board of directors for Smulekoff Investment Co. and Smulekoff Furniture Co., Inc. She graduated from Northwestern University (B.S., 1940) and the University of Iowa (J.D., 1980). She is married, has three children, and resides in Cedar Rapids, IA. She was born April 9, 1919, in Cedar Rapids.

Roberta Rose Roper, for a term expiring January 11, 1987. She will succeed Leo F. Callahan. In 1982 she became founder and spokesperson of the Stephanie Roper Committee, an all-volunteer citizens group that is now the largest victims rights organization in the United States. She is also an art teacher at St. Ambrose School in Cheverly, MD. She attended the College of William and Mary and graduated from Monterey Peninsula College (A.A., 1959) and the University of Maryland (B.S., 1979). She is married, has four children, and resides in Upper Marlboro, MD. She was born May 17, 1937, in Passaic, NJ.