August 10, 1983

The President today designated the following individuals to be Senior Counselors to the National Bipartisan Commission on Central America:

Ambassador Jeane J. Kirkpatrick, of Maryland, Representative of the United States of America to the United Nations, who in this capacity will serve as the President's Representative to the Commission

Upon recommendation of the Senate Majority Leader:

Sen. Pete V. Domenici of New Mexico

Sen. Charles McC. Mathias, Jr., of Maryland

Upon recommendation of the Senate Minority Leader:

Sen. Lloyd Bentsen of Texas

Sen. Henry M. Jackson of Washington

Upon recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives:

Repr. Michael D. Barnes of Maryland

Repr. Jim Wright of Texas

Upon recommendation of the House Minority Leader:

Repr. William S. Broomfield of Michigan

Repr. Jack F. Kemp of New York

William D. Rogers, of Virginia, partner, Arnold and Porter

Winston Lord, of New York, executive director, Council of Foreign Relations.