January 22, 1987

The President today announced his intention to nominate the following individuals to be members of the National Council on the Arts, National Foundation on the Arts and the Humanities, for terms expiring September 3, 1992:

David N. Baker, of Indiana. He would succeed Toni Morrison. Since 1966 Mr. Baker has been a professor of music and chairman of the jazz department, Indiana University School of Music. He also serves as president of the National Jazz Service Organization. He graduated from Indiana University (B.M.E., 1953; M.M.E., 1954). Mr. Baker was born December 21, 1931, in Indianapolis, IN.

Nina Brock, of Tennessee. She would succeed Lida Rogers. Since 1981 Mrs. Brock has been a member of the Tennessee Arts Commission, which she currently chairs. She is a member of the board of directors of the Southern Arts Federation. Mrs. Brock graduated from Randolph Macon College (B.A., 1961). She was born November 18, 1939, in Birmingham, AL.

Robert Garfias, of California. He would succeed Arthur I. Jacobs. Since 1982 Mr. Garfias has been dean of fine arts, University of California at Irvine; and he also serves as president of the Orange County Arts Alliance. He graduated from San Francisco State College (B.A., 1956) and the University of California at Los Angeles (M.A., 1958; Ph.D., 1965). Mr. Garfias was born September 22, 1932, in San Francisco, CA.

Robert M. Johnson, of Florida. He would succeed Margo Albert. Since 1984 Mr. Johnson has been serving as a State senator in the Florida State Senate, and he has served as chairman of the Florida Arts Council. He graduated from Florida State University (B.S., 1958) and the University of Florida (J.D., 1964). Mr. Johnson was born September 1, 1934, in Akron, OH.

Ardis Krainik, of Illinois. She would succeed Ieoh Ming Pei. Since 1981 Ms. Krainik has been general manager of the Lyric Opera of Chicago, where she has served in various capacities since 1954. She graduated from Northwestern University (B.S., 1951). Ms. Krainik was born March 8, 1929, in Manitowoc, WI.

Harvey Lichtenstein, of New York. He would succeed Robert Joffrey. Since 1967 Mr. Lichtenstein has been president and executive producer of the Brooklyn Academy of Music. He graduated from Brooklyn College (B.A., 1952). Mr. Lichtenstein was born April 9, 1929, in Brooklyn, NY.

Arthur Mitchell, of New York. He would succeed Kurt Herbert Adler. Since 1969 Mr. Mitchell has been executive director and choreographer of the Dance Theater of Harlem. He was a principal dancer with the New York City Ballet from 1952 to 1969. Mr. Mitchell was born March 27, 1934, in New York City.