Nomination of John R. Davis, Jr., To Be United States Ambassador to Poland

October 6, 1987

The President today announced his intention to nominate John R. Davis, Jr., of California, a career member of the Senior Foreign Service, Class of Minister-Counselor, to be United States Ambassador to Poland. He would succeed Francis J. Meehan.

Since 1983 Mr. Davis has been Charge d'Affaires at the U.S. Embassy in Warsaw. Prior to this he was Director of Eastern European Affairs at the Department of State, 1981 - 1983. Mr. Davis has been consul general in Sydney, Australia, 1976 - 1980; deputy chief of mission at the U.S. Embassy in Warsaw, 1973 - 1976; consul general in Milan, Italy, 1972 - 1973; and economic officer at the U.S. Embassy in Rome, 1967 - 1972. From 1963 to 1967, he served in the State Department as a personnel officer, economic trainee, and economic desk officer. From 1960 to 1963, Mr. Davis was consul and economic officer at the U.S. Embassy in Warsaw, Poland. He joined the Foreign Service in 1955.

Mr. Davis graduated from the University of California at Los Angeles (B.A., 1953) and Harvard University (M.P.A., 1965). He served in the United States Navy, 1945 - 1946. He is articulate in Italian and Polish. Mr. Davis was born July 25, 1927, in Eau Claire, WI. He is married, has three children, and resides in Washington, DC.

Appointment of 26 Members of the Presidential Board of Advisors on Private Sector Initiatives, and Designation of the Chairman and Vice Chairman

October 6, 1987

The President today announced the reappointment of John J. Phelan, Jr., chairman and chief executive officer of the New York Stock Exchange, as Chairman of the Presidential Board of Advisors on Private Sector Initiatives; and Edward O. Fritts, president and chief executive officer of the National Association of Broadcasters, as Vice Chairman of the Presidential Board of Advisors.

In addition, the President announced the reappointment of the following individuals as members of the Board:

John M. Albertine, vice chairman, Farley Industries;

Ann Ascher, president, Ann Ascher, Inc.;

Frederic H. Brooks, chairman of the board, MacGregor Sporting Goods, Inc.;

Michael P. Castine, director, Spencer Stuart;

Don V. Cogman, president, Americans for Responsible Government;

Elaine D. Crispen, Press Secretary to the First Lady, the White House;

Jock Elliott, chairman emeritus, Ogilvy & Mather;

Thomas W. Evans, partner, Mudge Rose Guthrie Alexander & Ferdon;

Lyda Hill, president, Hill Development Corp.;

James L. Ketelsen, chairman of the board, Tenneco, Inc.;

Gordon C. Luce, chairman of the board and chief executive officer, the Great American First Savings Bank;

A.C. Lyles, A.C. Lyles Productions, Paramount Pictures;

George F. Moody, president, chief executive officer and director, Security Pacific Corp. and Security Pacific National Bank;

Robert Mosbacher, Jr., president, Mosbacher Energy Co.;

Dana G. Rinehart, mayor of Columbus, OH;

George W. Romney, chairman, VOLUNTEER: The National Center;

Paul C. Sheeline, deputy chairman, Inter-Continental Hotels Corp.;

Robert D. Sparks, president, W.K. Kellogg Foundation;

Jean Stone, civic leader;

R. William Taylor, president, American Society of Association Executives;

Richard Treibick, president and chairman of the board, Cable Holdings, Inc.;

Alexander Trowbridge, president, National Association of Manufacturers;

C. William Verity, Jr., chairman of the executive committee, Armco, Inc.;

Robert Woodson, president, National Center for Neighborhood Enterprise.

The President's Board of Advisors on Private Sector Initiatives works to encourage charitable giving, voluntarism, public-private partnerships, and corporate social responsibility.