November 13, 1981

Nomination of C. T. Conover To Be Comptroller of the Currency

The President today announced his intention to nominate C. T. Conover to be Comptroller of the Currency, Department of the Treasury, for a term of 5 years. He would succeed John Gaines Heimann.

Since 1978 Mr. Conover has been a partner with the firm of Edgar, Dunn & Conover, Inc., of San Francisco, Calif. During this time he designed an electronic funds transfer system for banking institutions and worked with California banks on projects involving operations improvement and float control. Previously he was a partner with Touche Ross & Co., management services and national services director for banks, in 1974-78. In 1972-74 he was vice president, corporate development, U.S. Bancorp, in Portland, Oreg. Mr. Conover was management consultant with McKinsey & Co., Inc., San Francisco, Calif., in 1965-72.

He graduated from Yale University (B.A. 1960) and the University of California Graduate School of Business Administration (M.B.A., 1965). He is married, has two children, and resides in Lafayette, Calif. He was born October 13, 1939, in Bronxville, N.Y.

Appointment of Lawrence F. ``Pat'' Kramer as a Member of the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation

The President today announced his intention to appoint Lawrence F. ``Pat'' Kramer to be a member of the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation for the remainder of the term expiring January 17, 1985. He would succeed Dianne Feinstein.

Mr. Kramer is serving in his fourth term as mayor of Paterson, N.J. (1966-71 and 1974 to present). He is on the executive board of the National Conference of Republican Mayors and is also a member of the National League of Cities and the U.S. Conference of Mayors.

He is married, has three children, and resides in Paterson, N.J. He was born February 24, 1933, in Paterson.

Appointment of Eight Members to the Council of the Administrative Conference of the United States, and Designation of Vice Chairman

The President today announced the appointment of the following individuals to be members of the Council of the Administrative Conference of the United States. The President also designated Richard S. Williamson as Vice Chairman.

Mark S. Fowler, Chairman, Federal Communications Commission
Michael R. Gardner, partner, Bracewell & Patterson of Washington, D.C.
Edith Dinneen Hakola, vice president, general counsel, and treasurer of the National Right to Work Legal Defense Foundation, Springfield, Va.
James C. Miller III, Chairman, Federal Trade Commission
T. Timothy Ryan, Jr., Solicitor, Department of Labor
Edward C. Schmults, Deputy Attorney General, Department of Justice
Edward L. Weidenfeld, partner, McKenna, Conner & Cuneo of Washington, D.C.
Richard S. Williamson, Assistant to the President for Intergovernmental Affairs, The White House