Appointment of Four Members of the Dwight David Eisenhower Centennial Commission

May 28, 1987

The President today announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be members of the Dwight David Eisenhower Centennial Commission. These are new positions.

Susan Eisenhower, of Maryland. Ms. Eisenhower is currently executive director and founder of the Eisenhower World Affairs Institute in Washington, DC. Previously she worked at Burson-Marsteller. Ms. Eisenhower attended American University in Paris. She was born December 21, 1951, in Fort Knox, KY. She currently resides in Bethesda, MD.

Jane S. Gosden, of California. Mrs. Gosden has been active in campaign activities since 1940. She was born April 11, 1924, in New York, NY. Mrs. Gosden has two children and resides in Beverly Hills, CA.

George A. Horkan, Jr., of Virginia. Since 1960 Mr. Horkan has been an attorney in private practice in Upperville, VA. He graduated from the University of Pennsylvania (B.A., 1943) and George Washington University (LL.M., 1948). He served in the U.S. Army during World War II. Mr. Horkan was born June 1, 1922, in Baltimore, MD. Mr. Horkan is married, has four children, and resides in Upperville, VA.

Calvin A. Strowig, of Kansas. Mr. Strowig is currently president of the Eisenhower Foundation and director of the Kansas State Historical Society. He served five 2-year terms in the Kansas House of Representatives, 1963 - 1972. Mr. Strowig attended Kansas State College. He served in the U.S. Army Air Corps, 1943 - 1946. Mr. Strowig was born December 31, 1923, in Wabunsee County, KS. He is married, has two children, and resides in Abilene, KS.