Celebrating the 19th Amendment/Closure Notices

On August 6, join AmericasTownHall virtual celebration "The 19th at 100!" Presented with All in Together, 19th News, the US National Archives, and presidential libraries, a group of women luminaries, and other leading figures will discuss the past, present, and future of women’s equality. The celebration occurs on August 6, 4:00 pm-6:00 pm PDT, to register for this free online event, please see the invitation at https://www.eventbrite.com/e/19th-amendment-past-present-and-future-tick...


We're sorry. Due to the coronavirus public health emergency, the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library & Museum will be closed to the public beginning March 14th until further notice. This includes docents, volunteers and interns. We will continue to respond to written reference requests at reagan.library@nara.gov. Please check our website, reaganlibrary.gov or www.archives.gov/coronavirus  for updates on our operating hours and status.

All public events at the Reagan Library facilities are cancelled until further notice. This includes in-person public programs, tours, school group visits, public meetings, external conferences, and facility rentals. Where possible, we will conduct public events and outreach activities online and through virtual meetings. For online education information, please see our educational resources.

Notice to NARA Researchers and FOIA Requestors

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and pursuant to guidance received from the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), NARA has adjusted its normal operations to balance the need of completing its mission-critical work while also adhering to the recommended social distancing for the safety of our staff.  As a result of this re-prioritization of activities, you may experience a delay in receiving an initial acknowledgment as well as a substantive response to your reference or FOIA request or appeal.  We apologize for this inconvenience and appreciate your understanding and patience.  Read more on how NARA is addressing COVID-19 (coronavirus) https://www.archives.gov/coronavirus

RESEARCHERS: Please see a "Letter to Researchers" from the Archivist of the United States for a further update.



Appointment of Forty-Four Members of the President's Task Force on Private Sector Initiatives, and Designation of Chairman

December 2, 1981

The President today announced the appointment of the following individuals to be members of the President's Task Force on Private Sector Initiatives. The President has announced that C. William Verity, Jr., will serve as Chairman.

William Aramony, president, United Way of America, Alexandria, Va.
William J. Baroody, Jr., president, American Enterprise Institute, Washington, D.C.
Helen G. Boosalis, mayor, city of Lincoln, Nebr.
William R. Bricker, national director, Boys Clubs of America, New York, N.Y.
Barber B. Conable, Jr., Member, U.S. House of Representatives, Washington, D.C.
J. Richard Conder, president, National Association of Counties, Rockingham, N.C.
Terence Cardinal Cooke, archbishop of New York.
Walter G. Davis, director, Department of Community Services, AFL - CIO, Washington, D.C.
Kenneth N. Dayton, chairman of the executive committee, Dayton-Hudson Corp., Minneapolis, Minn.
Pierre S. du Pont IV, Governor, State of Delaware.
David Durenberger, Member, U.S. Senate, Washington, D.C.
Luis A. Ferre, former Governor of Puerto Rico.
John H. Filer, chairman, Aetna Casualty & Life Co., Hartford, Conn.
Max M. Fisher, Detroit, Mich.
John Gardner, chairman, Independent Sector, Washington, D.C.
Daniel Gilbert, president, Eureka College, Eureka, Ill.
Jean L. Harris, secretary of human resources, Commonwealth of Virginia, Richmond, Va.
James S. Henry, president, Center for Public Resources, New York, N.Y.
E. V. Hill, pastor, Mt. Zion Baptist Church, Los Angeles, Calif.
Dee Jepsen, advisory board member, STEP Foundation (Strategies to Eliminate Poverty), Washington, D.C.
Michael S. Joyce, executive director, John M. Olin Foundation, New York, N.Y.
Edward J. Kiernan, president, International Union of Police, Washington, D.C.
Arthur Levitt, Jr., chairman, American Stock Exchange, New York, N.Y.
Robert D. Lilley, chairman, Local Initiatives Support Corp., New York, N.Y.
Henry Lucas, Jr., chairman, New Coalition for Economic and Social Change, San Francisco, Calif.
Leslie L. Luttgens, chairman, Council on Foundations, the Rosenberg Foundation, San Francisco, Calif.
Richard W. Lyman, president, Rockefeller Foundation, New York, N.Y.
Cornell C. Maier, chairman, Kaiser Aluminum & Chemical Corp., Oakland, Calif.
Thomas S. Monson, elder, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, Salt Lake City, Utah.
Robert Mosbacher, Jr., vice president, Mosbacher Production Co., Houston, Tex.
Franklin D. Murphy, chairman of the executive committee, Times Mirror Co., Los Angeles, Calif.
William C. Norris, chairman and chief executive officer, Control Data Corp.
Frank Pace, Jr., chairman and chief executive officer, National Executive Service Corp., New York, N.Y.
Thomas Pauken, Director, ACTION, Washington, D.C.
George Romney, chairman, National Center for Citizen Involvement, Arlington, Va.
James W. Rouse, chairman, the Rouse Co., Columbia, Md.
Andrew C. Sigler, chairman and chief executive officer, Champion International, Stamford, Conn.
Ellen Sulzberger Straus, president, WMCA Radio, New York, N.Y.
Leon Sullivan, founder, Opportunities Industrialization Center, Zion Baptist Church, Philadelphia, Pa.
Alexander Trowbridge, president, National Association of Manufacturers, Washington, D.C.
C. William Verity, Jr., chairman, Armco Steel, Inc., Middletown, Ohio.
William S. White, president, C. S. Mott Foundation, Flint, Mich.
Jeri J. Winger, first vice president, General Federation of Womens Clubs, Washington, D.C.
Thomas H. Wyman, president, CBS, Inc., New York, N.Y.