Nominations & Appointments, March 13, 1981

Nomination of William H. Coldiron To Be Solicitor of the Department of the Interior

March 13, 1981

The President today announced his intention to nominate William H. Coldiron to be Solicitor of the Department of the Interior.

Since 1953 Mr. Coldiron has worked for the Montana Power Co. He has served as director and vice chairman of the board since 1979. He was executive vice president in 1975 - 79, elected director in 1974, vice president and general counsel in 1968 - 75. Previously he served as general counsel and adviser on all regulatory and business matters of the company.

He was director and president of Canadian-Montana Gas Co., Ltd., Canadian-Montana Pipe Line Co., and Roan Resources Co. in 1974. He served as assistant attorney general of the State of Montana in 1950 - 51. He was a professor of law at the University of Montana Law School from 1947 to 1950 and from 1951 to 1954.

He served in the U.S. Army in 1942 - 46 and was discharged with the rank of captain. He was graduated from Morehead State University, Kentucky (B.A., 1938), and the University of Kentucky College of Law (J.D., 1947). He is a member of the Montana and American Bar Associations.

Mr. Coldiron is a resident of Butte, Mont. He was born in Catlettsburg, Ky., on August 12, 1916.

Nomination of Daniel Oliver To Be General Counsel of the Department of Education

March 13, 1981

The President today announced his intention to nominate Daniel Oliver to be General Counsel, Department of Education.

Since 1980 Mr. Oliver has served as president of Rincon Communications Corp. of New York. In 1980 he was involved in research and speechwriting for the James L. Buckley senatorial campaign in Connecticut. He was executive editor of National Review magazine in 1973 - 76 and editorial assistant in 1970 - 71. He was a candidate for the New York State Assembly in 1965, 1966, and 1968.

Mr. Oliver was with the firm of Alexander & Green of New York in 1971 - 73 and in 1976 - 79. In 1967 - 70 he was with Hawkins, Delafield & Wood of New York.

He was graduated from Harvard College (A.B., 1964) and Fordham Law School (LL.B., 1967). He was a Russian linguist in the U.S. Army in 1959 - 62.

Mr. Oliver is married and has five children. He resides with his family in Greenwich, Conn. He was born in New York City on April 10, 1939.

Nomination of Vincent E. Reed To Be an Assistant Secretary of Education

March 13, 1981

The President today announced his intention to nominate Vincent E. Reed to be Assistant Secretary for Elementary and Secondary Education, Department of Education.

Since 1976 Mr. Reed has served as superintendent of public schools in Washington, D.C. He was acting superintendent in 1975 - 76.

In 1974 - 75 Mr. Reed was associate superintendent for State administration with the D.C. public schools. He was assistant superintendent for secondary schools in 1971 - 74 and executive assistant to the superintendent of schools in 1970 - 71. He has held various other positions within the D.C. public school system prior to 1970.

Mr. Reed is affiliated with the American Association of School Personnel Administrators, National Association of Secondary School Principals, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, Junior Achievement, and many other groups.

Mr. Reed attended the University of Pennsylvania, the Wharton School of Finance and Commerce. He was graduated from Howard University with an M.A. in education.

Mr. Reed is married and resides in Washington, D.C. He was born in St. Louis, Mo., on March 1, 1928.

Nomination of Mark S. Fowler To Be a Member of the Federal Communications Commission, and Designation as Chairman

March 13, 1981

The President today announced his intention to nominate Mark S. Fowler to be a member of the Federal Communications Commission for the unexpired term of 7 years from July 1, 1979. Upon confirmation, the President intends to designate Mr. Fowler as Chairman.

Since 1975 Mr. Fowler has been a senior partner with the firm of Fowler & Meyers of Washington, D.C. He specialized in representing radio, television, domestic and private radio stations throughout the United States before the Federal Communications Commission. He was a guest speaker over the past 5 years at more than 20 conventions of broadcasters, sponsored by the National Association of Broadcasters and various State broadcaster associations. He was codirector of the legal and administrative agencies group in the office of executive branch management during the transition.

He was FCC communications counsel to Citizens for Reagan in 1975 - 76 and to the Reagan for President Committee in 1979 - 80. He represented both committees before the Federal Communications Commission. Mr. Fowler was associate attorney with the firm of Smith & Pepper of Washington, D.C., in 1970 - 75. He was employed with various radio stations from 1959 to 1969.

Mr. Fowler was graduated from the University of Florida at Gainesville where he received both his undergraduate and law degrees. He is married and has two children. He resides with his family in Arlington, Va. Mr. Fowler was born in Toronto, Canada, on October 6, 1941.

Appointment of Peter M. Flanigan as a Member of the President's Economic Policy Advisory Board

March 13, 1981

The President today announced the appointment of Peter M. Flanigan to the President's Economic Policy Advisory Board. The Board is composed of economic experts from outside the Government, and will meet every 3 or 4 months to advise the President with respect to the conduct and objectives of both domestic and international economic policy of the United States.

Mr. Flanigan is a managing director of Dillon, Read & Co., Inc., in New York and is a member of the board of directors of Anheuser-Busch Co., Inc. In 1969 he served as Assistant to the President with responsibility in the areas of domestic policy, commerce, and economics, was a Director of the Council of International Economic Policy in 1972, and served as deputy campaign manager in the 1968 Nixon Presidential campaign.

Other members of the President's Economic Policy Advisory Board are George P. Shultz, Chairman, James T. Lynn, Watler B. Wriston, Charls E. Walker, Herbert Stein, Thomas Sowell, Arthur F. Burns, William E. Simon, Paul W. McCracken, Alan Greenspan, Milton Friedman, and Arthur B. Laffer.