Notice to General Public and Reagan LIbrary Researchers on Closures


We're sorry. Due to the coronavirus public health emergency, the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library & Museum will be closed to the public beginning March 14th until further notice. We will continue to respond to written reference requests at Please check our website, or  for updates on our operating hours and status.

All public events at the Reagan Library facilities are cancelled until further notice. Where possible, we will conduct public events and outreach activities online and through virtual meetings. For online education information, please see our educational resources.

Notice to NARA Researchers and FOIA Requestors

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and pursuant to guidance received from the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), NARA has adjusted its normal operations to balance the need of completing its mission-critical work while also adhering to the recommended social distancing for the safety of our staff.  As a result of this re-prioritization of activities, you may experience a delay in receiving an initial acknowledgment as well as a substantive response to your reference or FOIA request or appeal.  We apologize for this inconvenience and appreciate your understanding and patience.  Read more on how NARA is addressing COVID-19 (coronavirus)

RESEARCHERS: Please see a "Letter to Researchers" from the Archivist of the United States for a further update.




Appointment of Eight Members of the United States Holocaust Memorial Council, and Designation of the Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, and Executive Director

May 3, 1986

The President today has announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be members of the United States Holocaust Memorial Council for terms of 5 years expiring January 15, 1991:

Elie Wiesel, of New York. This is a reappointment. The President intends to appoint him as Chairperson for a term of 5 years upon appointment. Dr. Wiesel is currently an Andrew W. Mellon professor of the humanities at Boston University. Dr. Wiesel was educated at the Sorbonne and holds a number of honorary degrees from universities and colleges throughout the world. He is married, has two children, and resides in New York, NY. Dr. Wiesel was born September 30, 1928, in Sighet, Romania.

Jack Abramoff, of California. He would succeed Tibor Baranski. Mr. Abramoff is currently vice president of Boardwalk & Associates in Washington, DC. He graduated from Brandeis University (B.A., 1981) and Georgetown University (J.D., 1986). Mr. Abramoff resides in Silver Spring, MD, and he was born February 28, 1958, in Atlantic City, NJ.

Sylvia K. Hassenfeld, of Florida. She would succeed Mark Talisman. Mrs. Hassenfeld is currently president of the Hassenfeld Foundation of Hasbro Industries in Pawtucket, RI. She graduated from Cedar Crest College (B.A., 1944). Mrs. Hassenfeld's husband is deceased. She has three children and resides in New York, NY. She was born September 19, 1920, in Philadelphia, PA.

Marvin G. Kelfer, of Texas. He would succeed Hyman Bookbinder. Mr. Kelfer is currently president and chairman of the board of Travis Savings & Loan Association in San Antonio, TX. He graduated from the University of Texas at Austin (B.B.A., 1950) and St. Mary's School of Law (LL.B., 1960). Mr. Kelfer is married, has three children, and resides in San Antonio, TX. He was born March 6, 1930, in Chicago, IL.

Issac Neuman, of Illinois. He would succeed Victor Borge. Rabbi Neuman is at Sinai Temple in Champaign, IL. He graduated from the University of Cincinnati (B.A., 1960) and Hebrew Union College (M.A., 1960; B.D., 1985). Rabbi Neuman has two children, resides in Champaign, and was born December 4, 1927, in Zdunska-Wola, Poland.

Seymour Siegel, of New York. He would succeed Joseph Asher. Dr. Siegel is currently Ralph Simon professor of ethics and theology at the Jewish Theological Seminary in New York. He graduated from the University of Chicago (B.A., 1958) and the Jewish Theological Seminary (M.A., 1951; Ph.D., 1960).

The President also announced his intention to appoint:

William J. Lowenberg, of California, to be Vice Chairperson of the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Council for a term of 4 years.

Richard Krieger, to be Executive Director of the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Council. He would succeed Seymour Siegel.