Reagan Library Closure

We're sorry. Due to the coronavirus public health emergency, the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library & Museum will be closed to the public beginning March 14th until further notice. This includes docents, volunteers and interns. We will continue to respond to written reference requests at Please check our website, or  for updates on our operating hours and status.

All public events at the Reagan Library facilities are cancelled until further notice. This includes in-person public programs, tours, school group visits, public meetings, external conferences, and facility rentals. Where possible, we will conduct public events and outreach activities online and through virtual meetings. For online education information, please see our educational resources.

Notice to NARA Researchers and FOIA Requestors

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and pursuant to guidance received from the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), NARA has adjusted its normal operations to balance the need of completing its mission-critical work while also adhering to the recommended social distancing for the safety of our staff.  As a result of this re-prioritization of activities, you may experience a delay in receiving an initial acknowledgment as well as a substantive response to your reference or FOIA request or appeal.  We apologize for this inconvenience and appreciate your understanding and patience.  Read more on how NARA is addressing COVID-19 (coronavirus)

RESEARCHERS: Please see a "Letter to Researchers" from the Archivist of the United States for a further update.




Statement by Principal Deputy Press Secretary Speakes on the Preliminary Radioactive Waste Repository Site Selection

May 28, 1986

The President today accepted the Secretary of Energy's report and recommendation to select three sites for the Nation's first radioactive waste repository. The sites recommended and approved are located at Yucca Mountain, NV; Deaf Smith County, TX; and Hanford, WA. These three sites were recommended from five as the Nation's first geologic repository for the permanent disposal of high-level radioactive waste and spent nuclear fuel. The Secretary's nominations were based on the environmental assessments required by the Nuclear Waste Policy Act of 1982 and were supported by environmental assessments evaluating on a technical basis the five sites from which the three were recommended and selected. As prescribed by law, the Secretary of Energy will further study these three sites and a recommendation to the President will be made in 1994 as to which of the three should be the final site.