Announcement of the Establishment of the Military Manpower Task Force

July 8, 1981

The President today announced the establishment of a Military Manpower Task Force, to be chaired by Secretary of Defense Caspar W. Weinberger.

The Task Force will review all aspects of manpower requirements and conditions in the Armed Forces, including such matters as the adequacy of the military compensation and incentives; educational benefits; current manpower readiness of the Armed Forces; effectiveness of training, leadership, and discipline; enlistment standards; recruiting and retention efforts; and Selective Service registration.

The Task Force will evaluate the total manpower situation and will provide recommendations to the President to increase the effectiveness of the active and reserve all-volunteer services.

Members of the Task Force will include Edwin Meese III, Counsellor to the President; David A. Stockman, Director of the Office of Management and Budget; John O. Marsh, Secretary of the Army; John F. Lehman, Secretary of the Navy; Verne Orr, Secretary of the Air Force; Richard V. Allen, Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs; Martin Anderson, Assistant to the President for Policy Development; Murray L. Weidenbaum, Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers; and Gen. David Jones, Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff.

The Executive Officer of the Task Force will be Maj. Gen. Thomas K. Turnage, who is also Director-designate of the Selective Service System.

An interagency working group to support the Task Force will be chaired by Lawrence J. Korb, Assistant Secretary of Defense (Manpower, Reserve Affairs and Logistics).