Celebrating the 19th Amendment/Closure Notices

On August 6, join AmericasTownHall virtual celebration "The 19th at 100!" Presented with All in Together, 19th News, the US National Archives, and presidential libraries, a group of women luminaries, and other leading figures will discuss the past, present, and future of women’s equality. The celebration occurs on August 6, 4:00 pm-6:00 pm PDT, to register for this free online event, please see the invitation at https://www.eventbrite.com/e/19th-amendment-past-present-and-future-tick...


We're sorry. Due to the coronavirus public health emergency, the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library & Museum will be closed to the public beginning March 14th until further notice. This includes docents, volunteers and interns. We will continue to respond to written reference requests at reagan.library@nara.gov. Please check our website, reaganlibrary.gov or www.archives.gov/coronavirus  for updates on our operating hours and status.

All public events at the Reagan Library facilities are cancelled until further notice. This includes in-person public programs, tours, school group visits, public meetings, external conferences, and facility rentals. Where possible, we will conduct public events and outreach activities online and through virtual meetings. For online education information, please see our educational resources.

Notice to NARA Researchers and FOIA Requestors

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and pursuant to guidance received from the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), NARA has adjusted its normal operations to balance the need of completing its mission-critical work while also adhering to the recommended social distancing for the safety of our staff.  As a result of this re-prioritization of activities, you may experience a delay in receiving an initial acknowledgment as well as a substantive response to your reference or FOIA request or appeal.  We apologize for this inconvenience and appreciate your understanding and patience.  Read more on how NARA is addressing COVID-19 (coronavirus) https://www.archives.gov/coronavirus

RESEARCHERS: Please see a "Letter to Researchers" from the Archivist of the United States for a further update.



Appointment of 20 Members of the President's Commission on Industrial Competitiveness

August 4, 1983

The President today announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be members of the President's Commission on Industrial Competitiveness. As announced on June 28, 1983, the Commission will be chaired by John Young.

Robert Anderson is chief executive officer of Rockwell International Corp. in Pittsburgh, Pa.

Dimitri V. D'Arbeloff is chief executive officer of the Millipore Corp. in Bedford, Mass.

Frederick B. Dent is president and treasurer of Mayfair Mills, Inc, in Arcadia, S.C.

Rimmer De Vries is senior vice president of Morgan Guaranty Trust Co. in New York, N.Y.

Edwin D. Dodd is chairman and chief executive officer of Owens-Illinois, Inc., in Toledo, Ohio.

B. Kipling Hagopian is a general partner in Brentwood Associates in Los Angeles, Calif.

Robert A. Hanson is president and chief executive officer of Deere and Co. in Moline, Ill.

Edwin L. Harper is executive vice president of Overhead Door Corp. in Dallas, Tex.

George A. Keyworth II is Science Adviser to the President in the Executive Office of the President, Washington, D.C.

Gerald D. Laubach is president of Pfizer, Inc., in New York, N.Y.

George M. Low is president of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in Troy, N.Y.

Bruno J. Mauer is president of Rickert Industrial Supply Co. in Milwaukee, Wis.

Rachel McCulloch is professor of economics at the University of Wisconsin in Madison.

Sybil C. Mobley is dean of the School of Business, Florida A & M University, Tallahassee, Fla.

Thomas J. Murrin is president of Westinghouse Electric Corp. in Pittsburgh, Pa.

John Doyle Ong is chairman, president, and chief executive officer of B. F. Goodrich Co. in Akron, Ohio.

Michael E. Porter is professor of business administration at Harvard University in Boston, Mass.

Ian M. Ross, is president of Bell Laboratories in Murray Hill, N.J.

Stephen I. Schlossberg is former director of government and public affairs, United Auto Workers; partner, Zwerdling, Schlossberg, Leibig and Kahn, Washington, D.C.

Mark Shepherd, Jr., is chief executive officer of Texas Instruments in Dallas, Tex.