Notice to General Public and Reagan LIbrary Researchers on Closures


We're sorry. Due to the coronavirus public health emergency, the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library & Museum will be closed to the public beginning March 14th until further notice. We will continue to respond to written reference requests at Please check our website, or  for updates on our operating hours and status.

All public events at the Reagan Library facilities are cancelled until further notice. Where possible, we will conduct public events and outreach activities online and through virtual meetings. For online education information, please see our educational resources.

Notice to NARA Researchers and FOIA Requestors

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and pursuant to guidance received from the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), NARA has adjusted its normal operations to balance the need of completing its mission-critical work while also adhering to the recommended social distancing for the safety of our staff.  As a result of this re-prioritization of activities, you may experience a delay in receiving an initial acknowledgment as well as a substantive response to your reference or FOIA request or appeal.  We apologize for this inconvenience and appreciate your understanding and patience.  Read more on how NARA is addressing COVID-19 (coronavirus)

RESEARCHERS: Please see a "Letter to Researchers" from the Archivist of the United States for a further update.



Reagan Administration Independent Counsels

Appointee Dates Independent Counsel
Raymond J. Donovan 1985-1987 Leon Silverman (also special prosecutor during original 1981-82 investigation of Raymond Donovan)
Edwin Meese III 1984 Jacob A. Stein
Michael Deaver 1986-1989 Whitney North Seymour, Jr.
Theodore B. Olson 1986-1988 James C. McKay and Alexia Morrison
Franklyn C. (Lyn) Nofziger 1987-1989 James C. McKay (including Edwin Meese III)

See Record Group 449 (Records of Independent Counsels for all except Iran/Contra)