Key Administration Officials

White House Office
Chief of Staff
Baker, James A.  III 1/21/1981-02/01/1985
Regan, Donald 02/02/1985-02/27/1987
Baker, Howard H. Jr. 02/27/1987-06/30/1988
Duberstein, Kenneth M. 07/1/1988-01/20/1989
During the first administration, Chief of Staff James A. Baker, Deputy Chief of Staff Michael Deaver, and Counsellor to the President Edwin Meese served together as President Reagan’s lead advisors. After they left in 1985, the Chief of Staff alone held this lead role.

Deputy Chief of Staff
Deaver, Michael K. 01/21/1981-05/10/1985
Thomas, W. Dennis 07/12/1985-05/23/1987
Duberstein, Kenneth M. 03/23/1987-06/30/1988
Oglesby, M. B. Jr. 07/05/1988-01/20/1989
Dennis Thomas served as a de facto deputy chief of staff, although his official title was Assistant to the President.

Counsellor to the President
Meese, Edwin III 01/21/1981-02/24/1985

Press Secretary
Brady, James S. 01/21/1981-02/28/1989

Principal Deputy Press Secretary
Speakes, Larry M. 06/17/1981-02/01/1987
After Press Secretary James Brady suffered serious wounds during the March 30, 1981 assassination attempt on the President, his assistant Larry Speakes assumed the Press Secretary’s day-to-day functions.Speakes was named “Principal Deputy Press Secretary” on June 17, 1981. When Speakes left, his assistant Marlin Fitzwater took over this role, with the title “Assistant to the President for Press Relations.”

Assistant to the President for Press Relations
Fitzwater, Marlin M. 02/02/1987-01/20/1989

Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs
Allen, Richard V. 1981-1982
Clark, William P. 1982-1983
McFarlane, Robert  (Bud)  1983-1985
Poindexter, John M. 1985-1986
Carlucci, Frank C. 1986-1987
Powell, Colin L. 1987-1989

Deputy Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs
Nance, James W. 1981-1982
McFarlane, Robert C. January 1982-October 1983
Poindexter, John M. October 1983-November 1985
Powell, LTG Colin L. 1986-1987
Negroponte, John D. 1987-1989

Assistant to the President for Policy Development
Anderson, Martin January 1981-March 1982
Harper, Edwin L. March 1982-July 1983
Svahn, John A. (Jack) September 1983-1986
Bauer, Gary L. January 1987-01/21/1989

Counsel to the President
Fielding, Fred F. 1981-1986
Wallison, Peter J. 1986-1987
Culvahouse, Arthur B. 1987-1989

Assistant/Deputy Assistant to the President for Public Liaison
Dole, Elizabeth H. 1981-1983
Whittlesey, Faith R. 1983-1985
Chavez, Linda 1985-1986
Maseng, Mari 1986-1987
Range, Rebecca G. 1987-1989

Assistant to the President for Legislative Affairs
Friedersdorf, Max L. January 1981-January 1982
Duberstein, Kenneth M. 1982-December 1983
Oglesby, M.B. Jr. 1983-1986
Ball, William L. III 1986-1989

Assistant/Deputy Assistant to the President for Presidential Personnel
James, E. Pendleton 1981-1982
von Damm, Helene 1982-1983
Herrington, John S. 1983-1985
Tuttle, Robert H. 1985-1989

Assistant/Deputy Assistant to the President for Political Affairs
Nofziger, Franklyn (Lyn)   1981-1982
Rollins, Edward J.  1982-1983
Tutwiler, Margaret D. 1984-1985
The Political Affairs office was disbanded in October 1983, with most of its staff leaving for positions in the President’s 1984 re-election campaign.   During the campaign, James Baker’s assistant Margaret Tutwiler handled most political matters for the White House. She was named Deputy Assistant for Political Affairs in September 1984. Political Affairs for the second administration was combined with the Office of Intergovernmental Relations.

Assistant/Deputy Assistant to the President for Intergovernmental Affairs
Williamson, Richard S. February 1981-May 1983
Verstandig, Lee L. June 1983-1985

Assistant to the President for Political and Intergovernmental Affairs
Rollins, Edward J. February 1985-November 1985
Daniels, Mitchell E., Jr. November 1985-March 1987
Donatelli, Frank J. March 1987-January 1989
For President Reagan’s second term, Political and Intergovernmental Affairs were combined into one office.

Assistant to the President for Cabinet Affairs
Fuller, Craig 1981-1985
Kingon, Alfred H. 1985-1987
Risque, Nancy J. 1987-1989

Office of Communications
Gergen, David R. 01/21/1981-01/15/1984
Buchanan, Patrick J. 02/06/1985-03/01/1987
Koehler, John O. 03/01/1987-03/09/1987
Griscom, Thomas C. 04/02/1987-07/16/1988
Maseng, Mari 07/01/1988-01/20/1989
At the start of the Administration, Staff Director David Gergen oversaw the Office of Communications and the Office of Speechwriting. Gergen was named Assistant to the President for Communications in mid-1981. After Mr. Gergen left the White House staff, the Communications office became a unit within the Office of the Deputy Chief of Staff.  Communications was reestablished as a separate office in February 1985.

Physician to the President
Ruge, Dr. Daniel A. 1/20/1981-12/31/1986
Hutton, Dr. John E. 01/01/1987-01/20/1989

Executive Office of the President
Director, Office of Management and Budget (OMB)
Stockman, David A. 1981-1985
Miller, James C. III 1985-1988
Wright, Joseph R. Jr. 1988-1989

Deputy Director, Office of Management and Budget (OMB)
Harper, Edwin L. 1981-1982
Wright, Joseph R. Jr. 1982-1988
Cogan, John F. 1988-1989

Chairman, Council of Economic Advisors (CEA)
Weidenbaum, Murray L.   1981-1982
Feldstein, Martin 1982-1984
Niskanen, William (Acting)1984-1985
Sprinkel, Beryl W. 1985-1989

Members, Council of Economic Advisors (CEA)
Niskanen, William A. 1981-1985
Moore, Thomas Gale 1983-1989
Jordan, Jerry 1981-1982
Poole, William VII 1982-1984
Mussa, Michael L. 1985-1989

United States Trade Representative (USTR)
Brock, William E. III 1981-1985
Yeutter, Clayton 1985-1989

Deputy U.S. Trade Representative
MacDonald, David R.
Smith, Michael B.
Lighthizer, Robert E.
Woods, M. Alan
Holmer, Alan F.
Smith, Michael B.
Murphy, Peter O. 
Samuels, Michael A.

Science Advisor and Director, Office of Science & Technology Policy
Keyworth, George A., II 1981-1985
Graham, William R., Jr.   1986-1989

Chairman, President’s Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board
Armstrong, Anne L. 1981-1990

Chairman, President’s Intelligence Oversight Board
Campbell, W. Glenn 1982-1990

Rev. May 2012