Celebrating the 19th Amendment/Closure Notices

On August 6, join AmericasTownHall virtual celebration "The 19th at 100!" Presented with All in Together, 19th News, the US National Archives, and presidential libraries, a group of women luminaries, and other leading figures will discuss the past, present, and future of women’s equality. The celebration occurs on August 6, 4:00 pm-6:00 pm PDT, to register for this free online event, please see the invitation at https://www.eventbrite.com/e/19th-amendment-past-present-and-future-tick...


We're sorry. Due to the coronavirus public health emergency, the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library & Museum will be closed to the public beginning March 14th until further notice. This includes docents, volunteers and interns. We will continue to respond to written reference requests at reagan.library@nara.gov. Please check our website, reaganlibrary.gov or www.archives.gov/coronavirus  for updates on our operating hours and status.

All public events at the Reagan Library facilities are cancelled until further notice. This includes in-person public programs, tours, school group visits, public meetings, external conferences, and facility rentals. Where possible, we will conduct public events and outreach activities online and through virtual meetings. For online education information, please see our educational resources.

Notice to NARA Researchers and FOIA Requestors

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and pursuant to guidance received from the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), NARA has adjusted its normal operations to balance the need of completing its mission-critical work while also adhering to the recommended social distancing for the safety of our staff.  As a result of this re-prioritization of activities, you may experience a delay in receiving an initial acknowledgment as well as a substantive response to your reference or FOIA request or appeal.  We apologize for this inconvenience and appreciate your understanding and patience.  Read more on how NARA is addressing COVID-19 (coronavirus) https://www.archives.gov/coronavirus

RESEARCHERS: Please see a "Letter to Researchers" from the Archivist of the United States for a further update.



Recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom, 1981-1989

October 9, 1981
Charles B. (Tex) Thornton:
Morris I. Leibman
Walter H. Judd
Bryce N. Harlow
Ella T. Grasso (posthumous).
James H. (Eubie) Blake:  

September 7, 1982
Philip C. Habib  

October 10, 1982
Kate Smith

January 12, 1984
Carlos P. Romulo, Foreign Minister of the Philippines

March 26, 1984
Senator Howard Baker
James Cagney;
Whittaker Chambers (posthumous)
Leo Cherne
Dr. Denton Cooley
Tennessee Ernie Ford
Dr. Hector Garcia
Gen. Andrew Goodpaster
Lincoln Kirstein
Louis L'Amour
The Rev. Norman Vincent Peale
Jackie Robinson (posthumous)
Egyptian President Anwar Sadat (posthumous)
Eunice Kennedy Shriver

June 26, 1984
Senator Henry M. Jackson (posthumous)

May 23, 1985
Mr. Count Basie
Mr. Jacques-Yves Cousteau
Dr. Jerome Holland (posthumous)
Professor Sidney Hook
Ambassador Jeane J. Kirkpatrick
Dr. George M. Low
Mr. Frank Reynolds (posthumous)
Mr. S. Dillon Ripley.
The Reverend Mother Teresa
Mr. Frank Sinatra
Mr. James M. Stewart
Gen. Albert Coady Wedemeyer
Gen. Charles E. Yeager

November 7, 1985
Paul Nitze
Roberta and Albert Wohlstetter

May 12, 1986
Ambassador Walter H. Annenberg
Col. Earl H. (Red) Blaik
Senator Barry Goldwater
Miss Helen Hayes.
Gen. Matthew Ridgway
Mr. Vermont Royster
Dr. Albert Sabin

July 26, 1986
Vladamir Horowitz

June 23, 1987
Ambassador Anne Armstrong,
Mr. Justin W. Dart, Sr., (posthumous)
Mr. Danny Kaye (posthumous)
General Lyman Lemnitzer
Mr. John McCone
Dr. Frederick Patterson, founder of the United Negro College Fund
Mr. Nathan Perlmutter
Mr. Mstislav Rostropovich
Dr. William B. Walsh
Mr. Meredith Willson (posthumous)

January 13, 1988
Roger L. Stevens
May 10, 1988
Lord Peter Carrington

October 17, 1988
Malcolm Baldrige
Pearl Bailey Bellson
Irving Brown
Warren E. Burger
Milton Friedman
 Jean Faircloth MacArthur
J. Willard Marriott
David Packard

January 19, 1989
Ambassador Mike Mansfield
George Shultz