January 12, 1982

The following individuals will compose a White House policy team, which will provide continuing policy guidance on implementing the President's decision to dismantle the Department of Energy:

Edwin Meese III, Counsellor to the President (Chairman)
Secretary Malcolm Baldrige, Department of Commerce
Secretary James Edwards, Department of Energy
Secretary James Watt, Department of the Interior
Secretary Caspar Weinberger, Department of Defense
Martin Anderson, Assistant to the President for Policy Development
Richard Darman, Assistant to the President and Deputy to the Chief of Staff
Craig Fuller, Assistant to the President for Cabinet Affairs
Edwin Harper, Deputy Director of the Office of Management and Budget

A steering group is also being formed with the primary role of providing coordination and direction to the activities of a series of working groups which will address in detail organizational, resource, legislative, and external relations issues. The membership of the steering group is as follows:

Joseph Wright, Deputy Secretary of Commerce (Chairman)
Ken Davis, Deputy Secretary of Energy (Vice Chairman)
Frank Carlucci, Deputy Secretary of Defense
Danny Boggs, Senior Policy Adviser, Office of Policy Development
Guy Fiske, Under Secretary of Energy
William Heffelfinger, Assistant Secretary of Energy
Martha Hesse, project manager, Energy Department Transition, Department of Commerce
Donald P. Hodel, Under Secretary of the Interior
Dennis Kass, Senior Policy Adviser, Office of Policy Development
George Keyworth, President's Science Adviser
Frederick N. Khedouri, Associate Director, Office of Management and Budget
M. B. Oglesby, Deputy Assistant to the President, Legislative Affairs
Peter Teeley, Vice President's staff
Richard Wagner, Assistant to the Secretary of Defense
Robin West, Assistant Secretary of the Interior
Richard Williamson, Assistant to the President for Intergovernmental Relations