January 22, 1985

The President today announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be members of the Commission on Executive, Legislative, and Judicial Salaries for the period of the 1985 fiscal year of the Federal Government:

Lloyd Norton Cutler will succeed Martha W. Griffiths. He is a partner in the law firm of Wilmer, Cutler & Pickering in Washington, DC. He served as Counsel to the President of the United States in 1979 - 1981. Previously he was with Wilmer, Cutler & Pickering in 1962 - 1979. He graduated from Yale University (A.B., 1936; LL.B., 1939). Mr. Cutler is married, has four children, and resides in Chevy Chase, MD. He was born November 10, 1917, in New York, NY.

Alexander B. Trowbridge will succeed Joseph Howard McDonnell. He is president of the National Association of Manufacturers in Washington, DC. Previously he was vice chairman of Allied Chemical Corp. in 1976 - 1978. He served as Secretary of Commerce in 1967 - 1968. Mr. Trowbridge graduated from Princeton University (B.A., 1951). He is married, has six children, and resides in Washington, DC. He was born December 12, 1929, in Englewood, NJ.