November 10, 1987

The President today announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be members of the Presidential Commission on the Human Immunodeficiency Virus Epidemic:

Beny J. Primm, of New York. He would succeed W. Eugene Mayberry. Since 1983, Mr. Primm has been president of the Urban Resource Institute and, since 1969, president and executive director of the Addiction Research and Treatment Corp. in Brooklyn, NY. Mr. Primm graduated from West Virginia State College (B.S., 1950) and the University of Geneva (M.D., 1959). He served in the United States Army. Mr. Primm was born May 21, 1928, in Williamson, WV. He has three children and resides in New Rochelle, NY.

Kristine M. Gebbie, of Oregon. She would succeed Woodrow A. Myers, Jr. Mrs. Gebbie is currently assistant director for health at the Department of Human Resources, and administrator of the Oregon State Health Division in Portland. She is also, since 1980, an adjunct associate professor with the Department of Psychiatric/Mental Health Nursing, School of Nursing, at Oregon Health Science University. Mrs. Gebbie graduated from St. Olaf College (R.N., 1965) and the University of California School of Nursing (M.N., 1968). She was born June 26, 1943, in Sioux City, IA. Mrs. Gebbie is married, has three children, and resides in Portland, OR.