March 20, 1987

The President today announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be members of the President's National Security Telecommunications Advisory Committee:

Bennet R. Miller, of Indiana. He would succeed James L. Johnson. Since 1983 he has been president, Tri-County Telephone Co., Inc., a company he has been with since 1959. He graduated from Purdue University (B.S., 1959). Mr. Miller is married, has two children, and resides in New Richmond, IN.

James E. Olson, of New Jersey. He would succeed Charles L. Brown. Since 1985 Mr. Olson has been chairman and chief executive officer of AT&T. Prior to this he was executive vice president, AT&T, 1977 - 1985. He graduated from the University of North Dakota (B.Sc., 1950). Mr. Olson is married, has two children, and resides in Short Hills, NJ. He was born December 3, 1925, in Devils Lake, ND.