October 7, 1987

The President today announced his intention to nominate the following individuals to be members of the National Commission on Libraries and Information Science:

For the remainder of the term expiring July 19, 1991:

Raymond J. Petersen, of Connecticut. He would succeed Kenneth Y. Tomlinson. Since 1969 Mr. Petersen has been executive vice president of Hearst Magazines and publishing director of Good Housekeeping Magazine. Prior to this he was senior vice president of Hearst Magazines, 1967 - 1969. Mr. Petersen served in the United States Army during World War II. He was born May 9, 1919, in Orange, NJ. Mr. Petersen is married, has ten children, and resides in Greenwich, CT.

For terms expiring July 19, 1992:

Sally Jo Vasicko, of Indiana. She would succeed John E. Juergensmeyer. Since 1981 Ms. Vasicko has been chairperson and professor of political science, Ball State University. Prior to this she was an associate professor of political science, 1978 - 1985. Ms. Vasicko graduated from the University of Puget Sound (B.A., 1965) and Duke University (M.A., 1968; Ph.D., 1971). Ms. Vasicko was born January 3, 1943, in Longview, WA, and currently resides in Muncie, IN.

Julia Li Wu, of California. This is a reappointment. Since 1969 Mrs. Wu has been the head librarian for the Virgil Junior High School in Los Angeles, CA. Prior to this she worked for the Los Angeles County public libraries, 1962 - 1969. Mrs. Wu graduated from National Taiwan Normal University (B.A., 1958), Immaculate Heart College (M.A., 1962), and California State University (M.A., 1975). Mrs. Wu is married, has three children, and resides in Los Angeles, CA.