Proclamation 5421 -- Seventy-fifth Anniversary of the Boy Scouts of America, 1985

December 15, 1985

By the President of the United States  of America

A Proclamation

The Boy Scouts of America, our Nation's largest organization for young people, has served our youth since 1910. Thanks to dedicated adult volunteers, more than 70 million young people have learned Scouting's lessons of patriotism, courage, and self-reliance over the past 75 years, and millions more have benefited from the service, inspiration, and leadership of the Boy Scouts.

Former Scouts have gone on to become leaders in all fields, including business, education, and government. The values they learned through Scouting have given them the confidence to make ethical choices and to realize their full potential as active and responsible citizens.

America's young people have always been treasured as our most precious resource. Since Scouting has had a strong positive influence on young people, it has played a vital role in shaping America's future. The Boy Scouts have clearly shown that it is possible to innovate while remaining faithful to their original principles. I am confident that they will continue to play an important role in American society for many years to come, molding our youth with programs that build confidence and competence, and instilling in them principles that can guide them through their lives.

The Congress of the United States, by House Joint Resolution 159, has designated the year 1985 as the ``75th Anniversary of the Boy Scouts of America'' and has authorized and requested the President to issue a proclamation to commemorate this event.

Now, Therefore, I, Ronald Reagan, President of the United States of America, do hereby proclaim the year 1985 as the Seventy-fifth Anniversary of the Boy Scouts of America.

In Witness Whereof, I have hereunto set my hand this fifteenth day of December, in the year of our Lord nineteen hundred and eighty-five, and of the Independence of the United States of America the two hundred and tenth.

Ronald Reagan

[Filed with the Office of the Federal Register, 4:27 p.m., December 16, 1985]

Note: The proclamation was released by the Office of the Press Secretary on December 16.